Endometriosis stages

Endometriosis stages?
Endometriosis is a medical condition in which the layer of tissue that usually covers the uterus’s inner side, starts growing on the outer side of the uterus. In the majority of the endometriosis cases, this layer of tissue starts growing on the ovaries, tissues, and the ovaries, and even on the uterine tubes, but in certain rare cases, it is observed that it may occur in the other parts of the body as well.

Generally, the Endometriosis symptoms include pelvic pain, pain during sexual intercourse, infertility, and heavy periods. The reason behind the condition is still not clear and the accurate method for diagnosing it is a biopsy, it clears which Endometriosis stages the woman has.

This condition of Endometriosis has been categorized by the clinical experts based on the number of tissues, their depth, their size and, the specific point where they are located. The best system to identify the stage and type of Endometriosis was developed by the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) formerly known as ASF. Let us understand all the types and stages of Endometriosis.


The ASRM classification system is designed in such a manner that it divides the condition into four stages or four grades depending upon the number of lesions and the depth.

· Stage 1: Stage 1 comprises few superficial implants or small lesions which may be on your outer tissue lining. Since the small implants take place so the chances of scars are almost negligible or very few. Stage 1 is often said to be Minimal and it ranges from 1-5 points.

· Stage 2: Stage 2 comparatively comprises a bit more implants than stage 1, these implants are more in number and even deeper in tissues, thus it results in scar tissue. Stage 2 is often said to be Mild and it ranges from 6-15 points.

· Stage 3: Stage 3 consists of many deep implants, in this stage you may have small cysts on either one or on both the ovaries accompanied by filmy adhesions which are a thick band of scar tissue. Stage 3 is often said to be Moderate and it ranges from 16-40 points.

· Stage 4: Stage 4 consists of even more implants than Stage 3, and these implants are too deep, also the larger cyst formation takes place either on one ovary or on both the ovaries with the presence of dense adhesions. Stage 4 is often called Severe and on the grading system, it ranges from above 40 points.{1}


The Endometriosis stages and Symptoms are very much vital for a doctor to start the medication specifically, as the prescribed medication depends upon the severity of the condition. Endometriosis is divided into groups based on the area they affect. There are broadly four main types of Endometriosis:

· Superficial Peritoneal Endometriosis: This is the least severe type in which the endometrial tissue gets attached to the thin membrane that lines your abdomen and pelvis, known as peritoneum.

· Ovarian Endometriomas: It is also known as Chocolate Cysts and is developed within the ovaries, and chances are that it might further break and spread in the pelvic cavity too.

· Deep Infiltrating Endometriosis I: It is often termed as DIE I by the doctors, and it occurs inside the organs of the pelvis cavity, this type of Endometriosis can even cause a case of Frozen Pelvis.

· Deep Infiltrating Endometriosis II: It is often termed as DIE II by doctors, it is an even worse case of DIE I as it not only occurs inside of the pelvis cavity but it too occurs outside of the cavity. This can affect the appendix, heart, lungs, and in even the worst cases, your brain.

The symptoms of Endometriosis may vary according to the stages and types, even in some cases women don’t even experience any of the symptoms but in the general case, the symptoms are mentioned below:

· Painful periods and this pain usually occur before the menstruation cycle and usually drop down as the cycle comes to an end. The pain can even increase as time passes.

· Painful sexual intercourse accompanied by cramps.

· Infertility.


It is important to take care of your mental and physical health as Endometriosis not only impacts your body but also impacts your mind, and in such a scenario, you should stay active and keep a healthy workout regime accompanied with a healthy diet plan, you can also have acupuncture sessions in a month or two as it will help a lot in reducing down your pain and increasing the blood flow which corrects the imbalances in your body.

All this information about Endometriosis stages and their types were with the motive to motivate all you ladies suffering from this condition and for more such informative content stay in touch with us.

Consult with a Doctor

Tell us your symptom or health problem

Private & Secure
Free Follow Ups

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *